DayBackOnline

Sharing

Overview: Sharing Your Schedule

Sharing lets you send a specific calendar view to folks who don't have access to your FileMaker or Google calendars. When you make a share you'll be creating a URL that contains exactly what you currently see on screen in DayBack.

And any changes you make in DayBack will be synced with the share so your URL is always up to date.

Sharing is great for:

• Sending project schedules to your customers
• Giving employees (resources) access to their schedules
• Publishing the schedule for a conference or site visit
• Sharing plans with your family and friends

Here's a video of this in action: sharing in action.

In this article:


Creating and Previewing a Share

To share your view, click "Share" in the upper right of DayBack Calendar, and then click "+ Share this view". You'll be asked to name your share and then set an expiration date. The name you give your share will show up for share recipients where you see a list of your calendar sources.

Once you click "Create Share" your share is ready to go and you'll see a URL you can copy and email to anyone who needs to see this schedule.

Click "View Share" and you'll get a preview of exactly what your recipients will receive.

Some tips:

Date Ranges. The share captures exactly what's in view when you select "Share this view", so events before or after the visible dates aren't included in the share. So when you're sharing project plans, for example, share from the horizon view as it can show the longest date ranges in DayBack.
Views. Recipients will open the share to exactly the same view you shared, so if you share from month view, that's what they'll see first. They can then navigate to other views if they need to see hourly schedules or focus on individual days.
Filters. Shares respect your filters, enabling you to share just part of your calendar. Events that are filtered out of view will not be included in your share. Recipients will see your list of filters (statues and resources) and will be able to filter your share further than you have. Here's an example:
If you share a schedule with just the resource filter set to "Dr. Thomas", the doctor receiving your share can still filter the share by status to see just their "confirmed" appointments.
If you share a schedule with the resource filter set to "Dr. Thomas" AND the status filter set to "confirmed", the doctor receiving your share could turn off the "confirmed" filter but no additional events would be revealed since only confirmed events were shared.
Expiring and Deleting Shares. From the Share menu in DayBack, click "Manage Shares" and you'll see all the views your group has shared. Deleting a share here will prevent recipients from accessing the share again. The share will behave as if it's expired and users will see a note saying the share can't be found.

Keeping Shares in Sync

Once you create a share, any changes made to the shared events inside DayBack will be synced to that share. This only applies to changes made in DayBack's interface: changes made outside DayBack (in your FileMaker system, for example) won't be synced until that event is again edited in DayBack's interface or until you manually update the share.

To manually update a share, select it from Share / Manage Shares and click "Update". This will snap your view to the view and filters of the share and re-sync every event in view. This lets you refresh the share with edits made outside the DayBack interface. See "updating" for more.

We hope DayBack is the place where you'll make all the changes to your schedule as it's the place you can see all your calendars together, view resources side-by-side, and work at longer time scales so deadlines don't sneak up on you.

If you want to double check than an edit has been synced to your share, you can click on a share at any time from Share / Manage Shares to view that share as the recipient would see it.

How It Works

When you make a share, the calendar sends each of the visible events to DayBack's servers: almost like exporting your events. The calendar also records the current view, date range, and filters you have employed.

When a recipient opens a shared URL, DayBack reads the shared events from the "export" on our server instead of from your original data source (like Google or FileMaker). Share recipients have no access to your original data source and no access to events that weren't visible when you made the share.

When exporting an event, DayBack only sends the information you can see in the view you shared and the information you can see in the event's popover (what you see when you click on an event). Other attributes of the event, or attributes of records related to the event, aren't exported to the share.

As you edit events in DayBack, the calendar looks to see if the event is part of a share. If the event is shared, DayBack re-exports the event to DayBack's server, keeping the share in sync with your changes to the event. Shares themselves don't poll DayBack's sever for changes so someone viewing a share while you make a change would need to click "refresh" to see your change take effect.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can recipients edit shared events? No. Recipients of a share URL will be unable to edit those events. If you want someone to be able to edit your calendar they'll need a DayBack Online account in your group. Here's how to invite them.

Do recipients need to have accounts in my FileMaker Solution? No. Folks opening a share URL don't need any information from your FileMaker solution and DayBack never hits your FileMaker Server when folks open a share.

If an event is linked to a contact, is that contact information shared? The share only includes the information you can see in DayBack. So if you have linked a contact to an event, your share recipient will be able to see the contact's name when they click on the event, but they won't have access to any other facts about the contact unless you've included those in the event's display.

Can I password protect a share? No. Anyone with the share URL can open it. If you've shared something by mistake you can delete the share from Share / Manage Shares. The share URLS are not guessable and include random elements, so folks likely won't be able to find your shares without you giving them the URL.

Who can create a share? By default, only administrators of your DayBack account can create shares. But Administrators can change this, enabling sharing for everyone, or turning off sharing completely. There is also an "allow sharing" in member settings that will allow administrators to disable sharing for specific members if the master "allow sharing" switch allows sharing for that type of user. However if the member setting is set to on it will not override the master switch settings. So the member setting can override to turn sharing off for them specifically but cannot override to turn sharing on for them specifically.

Can I remove the Share menu for all users? Yes. In Administrator Settings you'll see a section named "Views". Within that, simply enter "Share" beside "Hide menu items".

Can I style shared views differently from DayBack in Salesforce? Yes. By default your share will pickup any CSS modifications you've made to DayBack Online. But you can also make style changes that only effect shared pages by wrapping them in the class ".share-only"

© SeedCode, Inc. 2017

(855) SEEDCODE
support@seedcode.com
Follow us: