These are the notes for GoZync 3. Docs for the latest version of GoZync--GoZync 4--can be found here. GoZync 4 is a free upgrade and is highly recommended (hint: it's faster).
How does GoZync handle deleted records?
Records deleted on the hosted side are deleted from the mobile device the next time the mobile device pulls that table or executes a round-trip sync.
Records deleted on the mobile side are not passed to the host as deletion instructions. If you want to be able to delete records on mobile and have those records deleted from the host, tag the mobile record with a "deleted" flag instead. Then include the field in your Zync layout and delete the record on the host, either using a server side script or our "After Committing Entity" script in GoZyncHosted.
(Having been deleted on the host / server, the record will then actually be deleted from the mobile device next time it pulls records.)
Deleting records that don't (no longer) belong to me
A record doesn't actually have to be deleted from the host / server to be deleted from the user's mobile device: the record would also be removed from the user's device if it no longer "belongs" to that user.
For example, let's say that you've scripted GoZync to only pull down your orders that are marked "Ready". And that when you push those records back to the server, you're using our Before Editing Entity script to mark the record "Completed."
Well, next time that mobile user pulls down records, they'll also pull a list of all the orders they are supposed to have on the device: any records not on that list (because they were deleted from the host or because they are no longer "ready") will be deleted from the user's device. This makes it very easy to craft workflows where the user only has the records they need: you build a found set of records appropriate for that user, and GoZync does the rest.
Now this means that you may want to prevent users from pulling down new records if they have unzynced records on their device, but you don't have to.
Turning this off
While this deletion behavior is often just what you want, for very large data sets it may be faster to take over the duties of deleting records yourself instead of having GoZync do it. If you have many thousands of records, this can make things much faster. Learn how to turn this off here.