Novice FileMaker user challenged with a project

General support questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:21 am
Hey all,
I am a student worker at my University and I've been working with an Instructional Design staff member here on several small computer projects.
We recently purchased FileMaker in hopes of creating a database containing information such as faculty members, events, invoice and spending and other things you would expect a school to track concerning faculty and staff. Particularly we are interested in event management. (Having faculty and staff members register for events using our database)
Is this possible with SeedCode Complete?
We both have limited experience in database development and I am unsure of what is the best way to go about learning and developing this type of database.
We are both interested by SeedCode's Calendar product, and we believe it could help us greatly in the learning and development project, however we are unsure of how much experience is necessary to effectively use this product.
I have been playing around with the Demo version trying to familiarize myself as much as possible.
I am just wondering if anyone has suggestions as to rather we should try to learn how to use FileMaker without this software so that we know better what we are doing when we do use it, or if we should purchase this software and begin working on this project with very little FileMaker experience.

Any tips or feedback is greatly appreciated,

Mike
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:47 am
Hey Mike,

Good questions. Maybe this will help...

Our calendar is very well documented, so even folks who are new to FileMaker can follow our instructions to hook this up to their own FileMaker solution.