Date Calculation

General support questions.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:04 pm
Hello,
I am currently using FM7 Pro and am interested in performing a specific calculation based on a date field.

Our records are based on information gathered from people who log into our website, including the date they logged in. I'd like to be able to send follow-up letters to people 90 days after they log in. Is there a way to develop a report in FM that shows records created 90 days before dates entered in a date field?

I think (and I'm probably very wrong here) the script would start out something like this:
If [DatabaseName::Date < Get(CurrentDate)+90]
but then I get a little lost. Ideally, I'd like to show all records where (CurrentDate) = Date (a date entered in a field when record is created) + 90.

I'm a bit new to FM, so any help is appreciated.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:00 am
Greetings,

It sounds to me like the best approach would be to use a scripted find.

You can enter find mode, and then insert the date you want into the field in question.

You can do this easily in a script. Give it a shot, and let us know if you have any other questions.
Court Bowman, President
Cleveland Consulting, Inc.

http://www.clevelandconsulting.com/
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:40 am
Using a scripted find is a good way to locate individual records where the comparison date is fixed (ie if I wanted to search for all records where the date entered in the field is greater than or equal to 90 days less than a fixed date, which in this case would be the current date)
That is essentially what I am looking for, except if I used a scripted find our employees would have to change the current date every time they wanted to locate the desired records.

What I'd like is a way to create a layout which shows everyone in the database who logged into our site 90 days before the current date.