Lock a single record

General Information about upcoming products, upgrades, etc.
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:45 pm
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:31 am
In 8.5, I need to lock a record. I have used IsLocked but that locks all the records. Is my only option a vaidation by calculation?

Help is appreciated.

Jimbo
JIMBO
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:01 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 8:33 am
No, you can use Access Privileges to lock the record as well (to prevent editing in some cases) though I always accompany this by some on-screen indication that the record is locked (an unstored calc with a "locked" message) so that users aren't always trying to edit locked records.

The message tries to prevent them from editing the record and the Access Privilege enforces that.

Would that work for you?
John Sindelar
SeedCode
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:45 pm
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:18 am
I have this Customer::YourLockBox ≠ "LOCKED" as a Custom Record Privilege under limited. Is this what you are speaking of. This locks all records for that customer.

Jimbo
JIMBO
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:01 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:38 am
Sounds OK. I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to lock.
John Sindelar
SeedCode
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:45 pm
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 12:08 pm
I want to lock a single record (job ticket). The record has the clients name, email etc, from the Customer table. When you make YourCheckLockBox = Locked, it locks all records for that customer.

Since each record for that customer is connectd by the Customer table, does that mean when one locks all must lock.

Our goal is to lock the record when job is billed so information does not become accidentally changed.

So is there another way, lets say if Job Status = "Billed" record becomes view only.

Jimbo
JIMBO
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:01 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 12:18 pm
jim shelton wrote:lets say if Job Status = "Billed" record becomes view only.


Looks like that is the access privilege calc you want to use in the Jobs table.
John Sindelar
SeedCode

Return to FileMaker Products (General)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
(855) SEEDCODE
support@seedcode.com
Follow us: