Repeating events for 6-day school week

Support, Questions and Suggestions for the FM7 Version of CC Calendar.
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:46 pm
Hello. I am a rank CC newbie. Couldn't find this topic discussed in the archive.

My school is considering moving from a M-F (5 day) school week schedule to a A, B, C, D, E, F (6 day) schedule. The mapping fo A, B etc days to calendar dates will take place well before the start of the school year and will not change. Due to holidays etc, "A" days (etc) are not always 8 days apart. We are seeking a calendar solution that can handle the convenient creation of repeating events based on the 6-day week. For example, to reserve a room every "A" day at 10:30 (until a termination date). Or for faculty to manage their calendar by inputing their schedule via repeating events. is this kind of thing possible with CC? If so, I would appreaciate a brief description of how this works.

By the way... some of the school will remain on a traditional 5-day week, so we need the ability to work in both system simultaneously.

Thank you.
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:27 am
I'm not familiar with school weeks enough to know how an "A" day is different from "Monday". You can certainly use our repeating events engine to reserve a room every Monday at 10:30 until a termination date, or every other Monday, etc. but it sounds like your mapping of A, B days to weekdays is more complicated than that.

Perhaps you can let us know a bit more about how A, B days are mapped to weekdays and we can take it from there.

Best,

John
John Sindelar
SeedCode
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:11 pm
Thank you for the reply, John. Unfortunately, there is no direct mapping between "A days and "Mondays". I will try to explain. The first school day is "A" day. Let's assume that happens on Monday. That means the following mapping takes place:
A = Monday
B = Tuesday
C = Wednesday
D = Thursday
E = Friday
F = Monday
A = Tuesday
B = Wednesday