The best way to show multiple "types" of events?

Support for our integrated Contact Manager, Calendar, and Project Tracker.
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:32 pm
I just purchased SeedCode Calendar Pro after tinkering for several weeks with one of your previous free versions. I am mightily impressed with the design and functionality of your cool products! Unfortunately, being a relative novice, I have quickly run into what I think is a fundamental design problem.

I am trying to adapt Calendar Pro for use in my substance abuse/psychiatric clinic. Here are my objectives:

#1: In the calendar views: I want to be able to schedule 5 types of encounters for any given contact (patient): appointments, urine screens, incoming phone calls, outgoing phone calls (from myself to the patient), and "other."

#2: In the contacts (patients) view: I want to see a chronological list of the patient's 5 types of encounters, each in a different portal.

#3: In a third type of view, I'd like to be able to view global lists of appointments, urine screens, etc. (in other words, portals that contain lists of all of my patients' appointments, urine screens, etc.)

My plan at this point is to use the Projects table(s), and the relationship(s) between Contacts and Projects, to achieve these objectives. More specifically, I plan to do the following:

1) To achieve objective #3, I would get rid of the current "Projects" view, and create 5 separate views, on 5 separate tabs, one for each of the encounter "types."

2) I would then create one "project" for each type of encounter (i.e. 5 projects, one entitled "appointments", one entitled "urine screens" etc.)

3) Each of the 5 new tabs will then show a portal that contains a complete list of appointments (tab 1) or urine screens (tab 2) or calls, etc.

Does this make sense to you, design-wise? Or is there a more elegant way to achieve my objectives?
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:40 pm