"We Couldn't Set The Field" error in GoZync 5.032

Help, Tips, and Tricks for deploying GoZync: our "sync" engine for FileMaker Go.
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:21 am
Hi Guys

I've been struggling with a new GoZync integration (v5.032). I have configured the sync to work via the two host files (hosted on FM Server) and the two mobile files on an iPad (though I've been testing these latter two on my Mac desktop running OS 10.10 as well).

The integration has gone well with the GoZyncHosted Configuration layout having green ticks in all the right places, there are no errors when running "refresh and check for errors" and I have also gone through the suggestions as covered in the More column. I have run a few tests with pushing and pulling data and it works in every case (ie all tables) except one. I have a ROOM table which repeatedly throws up the following error in the log :

---------------------------------------------------------
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - STARTING ROOM ROUND TRIP

0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Starting Push
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Starting to Push "gzm_Room"
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - FLM is OFF
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Found 0 records to push
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Done Pushing "gzm_Room"

0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Push Complete

0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Starting Pull
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Starting to Pull "gzh_Room"
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Last Time Zync: ""
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - FLM is OFF
0:00:00 - 0:00:52 - Starting Perform Script On Server to get IDS - "gzh_Room"
0:00:01 - 0:00:53 - PSOS call complete
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - Looking for record to Delete
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - No records to delete in "gzm_Room"
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - Deletion Complete
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - Found 5 records that have changed since last zync
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - Starting sync on 5 records.
0:00:00 - 0:00:53 - ERROR: 102 (Field is missing) We couldn't set the field, "gzm_Room::"
0:00:01 - 0:00:54 - Error: 102 The record couldn't be saved. Primary ID was 2F480950-A6CD-4981-B789-7CD0B59BA02A
0:00:00 - 0:00:54 - Sync halted at record # 1 due to error. Incomplete changes were rolled back.
0:00:00 - 0:00:54 - Done Pulling "gzh_Room"

0:00:00 - 0:00:54 - Pull Complete

0:00:00 - 0:00:54 - ENDING ROOM ROUND TRIP
---------------------------------------------------------

As you can see, the error occurs when the GoZyncMobile file runs the "Set Fields (ToName)" script and tries to set a field with "Room::" as the full table / field name ie the field name is missing. I have deleted all of the records in the host and mobile files associated with the Room table and the sync worked (ie no complaints) but when I created some in the mobile file and then attempted a sync, it failed again. I've been using UUIDs for an age and all of the ROOM records have them within the primary key. The fault is completely stable ie not intermittent and it's always the same error.

Any help / suggestions would be appreciated - Jon
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:29 am
Make sure there are no "<field missing>" objects on the "gzh_Room" or "gzm_Room" layouts in GoZyncMobile, and that the same fields appear on both of those layouts. If that's not it, see if you have any field validations set up that could be causing the problem.
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:33 am
Hi Jeff - thanks for the quick response.

I can confirm that there are no <field missing> objects on the layouts and that aside from originating with different table occurrences, they have the same fields on the layouts (I have removed and re-added the fields to both layouts twice now). There are no fields with field validations on the layouts and in fact the 'most complex' field is one with an auto-enter data value of 1 and a couple of auto-enters for modification / creation date and user.
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:43 am
Couple of things... field validations could still be an issue even if you aren't syncing those particular fields. I don't think that's what's going on here but keep that in mind. Second, remove any related fields from the sync layouts. If you want to do related syncing, here's how: http://www.seedcode.com/pmwiki/index.ph ... tedRecords
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:08 am
Well there are no fields requiring any kind of validation on the layout or in the table (save for the gz fields) - certainly other tables will have some validation fields and they sync fine but I'll do as you say and keep it in mind.

I must admit to having some confusion over the Related Records aspect of GoZync. A daft question I'm sure but if I'm syncing all the tables anyway, why would I need to setup related record syncing? For example, I have a Job table and most of the other tables in the DB are related to it (it being the parent in many relationships) so in the case of Rooms, each Job record can have multiple Rooms but each room record has a single job. The relationship is based on Job::a__ID (the primary key field in the Jobs table) to Room::a_JobID. So if each table is being synced, (including the Room::a_JobID field) why would I need to go through setting up Related Record syncing?

Also, I have an Address table which stores the address for Jobs, Clients, Contacts and so on so that table would relate to several parents. Wouldn't this cause a problem when selecting a parent?

Sorry for the multitude of questions :)
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:14 am
You don't have to set up related syncing; it's totally optional. Use it only if you want your syncs to be "transactional" (all-or-nothing parent with children). If you do set up related syncing, each child table can only be set up to sync with one parent.
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:46 am
Hi Jeff - aha! Now I understand. Thanks for that. Okay, there are no related fields on the layout nor are there fields with any kind of validation.

Do you have any other thoughts?
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:11 am
You're still getting the error even after removing the related fields? I'll have to see your files to help you troubleshoot. You can send them to me at support@seedcode.com
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:09 am
Thanks Jeff - files have been sent.
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:09 pm
It appears that the "gzh_Room" sync layout in GoZyncMobile is corrupted, and that's what's causing the sync error. Just delete that layout, then create a new layout from scratch with that same name and with the same fields on it. I would suggest not copy/pasting anything so as to avoid retaining any weird corruption.
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:18 am
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:57 pm
That's great Jeff - works like a dream. I should have considered a corrupted layout as although rare in my experience, we had a similar situation (not with GoZync) happen on a different database / server less than a year ago so it should still have been fresh in my mind. Saying that, if I had resolved it myself, it wouldn't be documented here so hopefully, if someone else experiences this weirdness, the solution is available to them.

It's nice to know that neither GoZync nor my coding were at fault :)

Many thanks to you and the Seedcode team!
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:47 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:32 am
You're welcome! Corruption like that is rare in my experience as well, but I'm glad the fix is an easy one. Cheers. -Jeff

Return to GoZync

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron
(855) SEEDCODE
support@seedcode.com
Follow us: