Multiple Selection Problem

Support for our integrated Contact Manager, Calendar, and Project Tracker.
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:39 am
I am a self-taught relative newbie to FileMaker and apologize if my question is ridiculously simple but I have been unable to solve a problem via a review of the online documentation or via searching topics in this forum.

Ultimately, my question may stem from a misunderstanding of what is intended by the "Multiple Selection" script parameter. (My hope is that it means that the user can select multiple records in a portal or, at least, that selecting/deselecting a portal row will add/subtract the record's ID to a list contained in the FieldName_SelectedIDGlob.)

I am trying to create a pop-up window for the user to choose a number of lab tests for a given patient. I have copied (and modified field/variable references) the Select Contact { ContactID ; Multiple Selection }, Select Contact - Click on Contact {ID}, Select Contact Continue {Cancel}, and Select Contact - Find Contacts {Show All} scripts.

I have a button that performs the script Select Lab Set { LabSetID ; Multiple Selection } and passes through the script parameter: "Multiple Selection = 1".

On the Mini -Select Labs layout that the script opens, I have created a button in the portal rows performing the script: Select Lab Set - Click on Lab Set {ID} and also have it passing through the script parameter "Multiple Selection = 1".

While my hope was that this would allow the user to select/highlight multiple portal rows (either directly or while holding down Shift or Command Keys) and to have the list of LabSet record IDs sent to the SelectLabSet_SelectedIDGlob field, this does not occur. In fact, I can't see any difference between sending or not sending the "Multiple Selection = 1" parameter.

I do look forward to any help or clarification that you may have to offer.

JLKoch
Jack L. Koch Jr., M.D.
SeedCode Staff
SeedCode Staff
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:29 am